It’s been quite some time since I last saw that face. A few wrinkles and a permanent scowl.

The electronic display wasn’t working in the bus stop and I didn’t want to whip out my android to get on to nextmuni. It was then I saw that face. She was sitting on one of those uncomfortable seats fitted in the bus shelters here with her eyes closed. Before I could say anything, the little boy sitting next to her started tugging on her sleeve. I didn’t notice him till that moment. And I anticipated her irritated expression very well as she opened her eyes and turned to him. I had not anticipated it as a sign of mere discomfort at being disturbed. I knew that it’s been her reaction to everything for a long time now. That is when it occurred to me that it’s been quite a while since I saw that face.

Why is it that I don’t see it on the faces of  the women pushing prams around in the suburbs?

How does the little boy see this impotent exercise of limited power?

